Granny’s Peach Cobbler

This was a nerve-wracking dessert the first time I made it! Not because it’s difficult (it’s actually super easy), but because it has been my husband’s favorite dessert his whole life and I wanted to do it just like his Granny. Needless to say I had nothing to fear – it turned out great and the best part was that he didn’t have to share it with the other grandkids! This is my go-to recipe when I need a cheap and low-maintenance dessert. It’s always a crowd-pleaser, I’ve even served it to people who don’t like fruit eat this and end up enjoying it!

Ingredients:

One big tin of peaches (not drained)

Half a stick of butter

3/4 cup of self-rising flour

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup milk

Directions: Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Pour the peaches (with the juice) into an ovenproof baking dish – I used the one I sometimes use for lasagne. Melt the butter and pour that over the peaches. In a separate bowl, beat together the flour, sugar and milk. Pour this mixture over the peaches – do not mix! Put the cobbler in the oven for 35-45 minutes until golden brown on top. Serve alone or with vanilla ice cream.

Granny’s Peach Cobbler

Leave a comment