Psalm 119 – Choose Obedience!

Psalm 119 is one of my absolute favorite passages in the Bible. It is full of wisdom and encouragement, and I love that as a busy new mom I can pick out one or two verses to meditate on all day instead of having to take time to read large chunks of scripture – free time is not something that I always have! God led me to this passage this morning and it has been speaking volumes to me today. I want to break it down, pick out the particular verses that are speaking to me right now and unpack them a little so that we can get as much out of them as possible. I pray Psalm 119 encourages you as much as it has encouraged me so far!

We’re going to begin with verses 1 and 2. The author of this Psalm is unknown, some say it was Ezra the priest but there is no real proof of this and I don’t think it’s relevant in this situation – what’s important is what we can learn from what we read!

Joyful are people of integrity, who follow the instructions of the Lord. Joyful are those who obey His laws and search for Him with all their hearts. – Psalm 119:1-2 (NLT)

Out of obedience comes joy. When we choose to follow the instructions of the Lord, there is joy and joy abounding. God only has good for us and when we obey His word, that is what we get – fullness of joy, life, peace, hope, GOODNESS. Later on in the Psalm, in verse 143, it says “As pressure and stress bear down on me, I find joy in your commands”. When we are bogged down by the stresses and trials of this life, we can find joy in God’s word, and in obeying what it commands us to do. So often we get stuck in a rut, wallowing in the misery of our circumstances but if we would just immerse ourselves in His word and do what it says, we can find joy! I was recently blessed to hear from the Lord about what He wanted me to do in a certain situation and I decided to be obedient – let me tell you, I received so much joy from that experience! Just to know that God would care enough to instruct me on something and that He would bless me for being obedient is beyond my understanding. I challenge you to choose obedience, and to ask God to bless you with an incomprehensible joy!

Psalm 119 – Choose Obedience!

One thought on “Psalm 119 – Choose Obedience!

Leave a Reply

