CrockPot 3-Bean Turkey Chili

I’m super excited about this recipe and I feel like it’s probably going to become a staple for our family during the fall and winter! I found it on www.skinnytaste.com and made a couple changes of my own too. The original recipe called for chickpeas, but my husband is not a fan so I substituted those for the Great Northern beans. I also forgot to buy chili powder so I mixed my own blend of cumin, paprika, salt & pepper, crushed coriander seeds and a dash of cinnamon. I like this recipe because turkey is much leaner than beef, and the beans make this chili packed with protein!

1 lb ground turkey breast

1 small onion, chopped

1 (28oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (16oz) can tomato sauce

1 (4.5oz) can diced green chilies, drained

1 (15oz) can Great Northern beans, undrained

1 (15oz) can kidney beans, undrained

1 (15oz) can black beans, undrained

2 tbsp chili powder

For the topping: fresh cilantro, shredded cheddar cheese (can also add sliced avocado, sour cream, chopped red onion)

– Brown the turkey in a medium skillet over medium-high heat. Drain the fat (although I do like to leave just a tiny bit in for flavor), throw that in the CrockPot with the chopped onion. Add the beans, chilies, tomatoes, chili powder and mix well. Cook on high for 6-8 hours, or I set mine on low for 8 hours the night before, and then switched the setting to warm from when I woke up in the early morning until lunchtime.

I served ours with fresh bread from my beloved bread machine – delicious!

CrockPot 3-Bean Turkey Chili

4 thoughts on “CrockPot 3-Bean Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

