Psalm 119 – Lying in the Dust

I lie in the dust; revive me by Your word. – Psalm 119: 25 (NLT)

I weep with sorrow; encourage me by Your word. – Psalm 119:28 (NLT)

Some days kick us down, and we don’t feel that we have the strength to get back up. We all have those days. You know, the ones where everything seems to go wrong and our hearts are discouraged because we’re not getting anywhere. We’re battling but not gaining any victories. We don’t feel like our faith is rising or our strength is renewed – if we were to be honest, we’d say that we were ‘lying in the dust’. Yesterday we spoke about how obeying God’s word can bring us joy and purity of heart but you and I both know that there are times when we don’t feel joy. God uses His word to encourage us and to build us back up – to pick through the rubble of our circumstances and grant us renewed strength and renewed faith. This is why it is so vital that we keep His word hidden in our hearts (Psalm 119:11) and that we know where to look when we need that kind of encouragement. Here are some of my favorite verses that I have written down in several different places for when I’m ‘lying in the dust’:

If your heart is broken, you’ll find God right there; if you’re kicked in the gut, He’ll help you catch your breath. – Psalm 34:18 (MSG)

‘Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed’ says the Lord, who has compassion on you. – Isaiah 54:10 (NIV)

And we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and the one who remains in love remains in God, and God remains in him. – 1 John 4:16 (HCSB)

Forget the former things, don’t dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! – Isaiah 43:18-19a (NLT)

They will fight you, but they will fail. For I am with you, and I will take care of you. I, the Lord, have spoken! – Jeremiah 1:19 (NLT)

Psalm 119 – Lying in the Dust

Leave a Reply

