The Easiest Homemade Tomato Soup

photo 4 (1)

Chris and I have this about once a week, usually for lunch on a weekend. It is SO easy and it tastes a million times better than any tomato soup from a can (gross!) This is also a pretty cheap recipe so if it’s the end of your pay period and you need something delicious but frugal, this soup is for you! I’ve served this as a main course with croutons and some quiche on the side and I’ve served this as an appetizer as well. It really is a crowd pleaser and is so easy to make.

We always have it with sandwiches grilled in our panini press. I have ‘real’ cheddar cheese, and Chris has his favorite ‘fake’ cheese – you know that plastic-y American pre-sliced stuff? I guess you can only change so much about how a person eats…

28oz can whole tomatoes

1 tbsp red wine vinegar (I actually have a whole thing of white wine vinegar that I need to use up, so I’ve only used that so far and honestly, I just eyeball the amount, to taste)

1 garlic clove, crushed (again, I eyeball it. If we’re starting to get a cold I load it up!)

Olive oil

Any herbs you want (I have a French Herb mix that I bought at a local farmer’s market which I’m in love with, but Italian Seasoning would work very well too)

Some heavy cream (sorry, so much of this recipe I just taste as I go!)

salt & pepper

– Saute your garlic in olive oil until it starts to brown, add the tomatoes, vinegar and herbs. Transfer the mixture to a blender/smoothie maker/food processor and blend until desired consistency. I like mine halfway between chunky and smooth. 

Once you have it to your liking, put it back in the pan on the stove and add a dash or two of heavy cream and sometimes I like to grate from fresh parmesan in it to melt a little. Re-season to taste if necessary and serve with croutons, or grilled cheese.

The Easiest Homemade Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

