Sticky Asian Drumsticks

A few weeks ago, I found some organic, hormone & antibiotic free chicken drumsticks at an incredibly low price. I bought them, but was somewhat apprehensive as I’d never cooked drumsticks before! Before this recipe I was not a fan of chicken ‘on the bone’ and of the darker meat but now I can’t get enough! I may even try wings before long. I made up this recipe according to what I already had in my kitchen one Saturday, and I’ve already made it again since then! Chris loved them, I loved them, and other people have asked to try them. This recipe serves two (to be honest though, Chris could have eaten all 6 drumsticks!)

1798781_10151889364576080_1606688465_n

6 large chicken drumsticks (or 8 regular size)

4 tbsp butter

About 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

2 (or more, depending on what you like) cloves of garlic, roughly chopped

Honey (to taste)

Soy Sauce (to taste)

– Melt the butter in a small saucepan. Add the garlic and saute for about 30 seconds. Add the red pepper flakes, honey and soy sauce. Stir until combined. To get the flavor just right you need to keep tasting, and keep stirring. I stirred mine on med-high heat until it started bubbling and then reduced it to low heat. Once you have the flavor that you want, put the drumsticks in an ovenproof dish and pour the sauce/marinade over. Marinade for at least two hours. The second time I made this recipe I marinaded overnight and it was delicious! 

When you’re ready to cook the chicken, preheat the oven to 400 degrees fahrenheit and bake for 40-45 minutes or until done. Halfway through I like to spoon some of the sauce/marinade back over the chicken. After that I leave it alone so that the skin can get nice and crispy. 

Serve with anything you like – rice, egg fried rice, salad, potatoes, steamed veggies… the options are endless! This would also be a great dish to make a big batch of and take to share at a cookout.

Sticky Asian Drumsticks

Leave a Reply

