Quinoa Bites with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese

It has been quite a while since I’ve blogged, and I do apologize for that. I always knew this summer was going to be busy, but I had no idea just how busy it would end up being! I have recently discovered the joyful grocery store that is Trader Joe’s. We have to drive 20 minutes down the road to Asheville, but it is SO worth it. I need to do a blogpost on all the wonderful things I buy there on a regular basis, as it’s a fantastic place to buy toddler snacks that aren’t necessarily marketed for babies and are therefore cheaper. Anyway I decided to go out on a bit of a limb on my Trader Joe’s trip this week and I bought a bag of quinoa – my first ever! I’m not one for ‘hype’ but I have to say, quinoa is totally living up to it’s reputation in the Pruett household. These bites are so delicious, all three of us love these and have been snacking on them since I made them. They make great midday pick-me-ups or you can have a couple for lunch. These are packed with protein and give a great boost of nutrition and energy. The original recipe is from Alida’s Kitchen, but of course I tweaked it!

Quinoa bites

1 cup quinoa, cooked in 2 cups chicken broth

2 eggs, lightly beaten

2 cups raw broccoli, finely chopped

1/4 yellow onion, finely chopped

1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese

Salt & pepper

a splash of paprika

–  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. 

Line a muffin tin with cupcake cases (I did this to prevent mess, but you could also just grease the tin and put the mixture straight in). 

Mix all the ingredients together, and distribute the mixture evenly between all the cupcake cases. Bake for about 20-25 minutes until golden brown. Remove from the oven, let cool and enjoy! You can refrigerate these and eat them cold or heat them up in the microwave. So yummy!

Quinoa Bites with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese

One thought on “Quinoa Bites with Broccoli and Cheddar Cheese

Leave a Reply

